upcoming events

14th November 2021

Derby Runner XC#1

Holly Hayes

12th December 2021

Derby Runnr XC#2

Bagworth Heath

16th January 2022

Derby Runner XC#3

Martinshaw Woods


Welcome to Wigston Phoenix R C

Welcome to Wigston Phoenix Running Club. We are a friendly, sociable club who cater for all standards of runners in Wigston, Oadby and South West Leicestershire.
Our main training night is Tuesday, when we meet at The Wigston Liberal Club.
For more details, see the training and about us pages.

Club AGM
Tuesday Club Night Runs

19/10/21 Tuesday's Manor Rd routes (clock-wise)

Click here to go to the 5 mile route.
Click here to go to the 7 mile route.

Thursday Training
Thursday training Sessions (currently for Members only) have started-up again.
Winter meet-up points
Victoria Park - near the medical centre: 203 Victoria Park Rd. LE2 1XD
Wigston - Aylestone Lane/Kings Drive car park.LE18 1AH

21st October, 6:30pm, Victoria Park
28th October, 6:30pm, Wigston
Derby Runner Cross Country League
The 2019/20 Derby Runner Race #4 was at Grace Dieu. We had another fantastic turn out with 15 men and 12 ladies racing. Alice Rowland come in at an amazing 5th place and Martin Talbott 13th! Let's keep it going for #5 Bosworth Battlefield, approx 11:00 on Sunday 1st March ( RACE CANCELLLED) next XC will now be on Sunday 22nd March 2020 at Bagworth Heath.

2018-19 Derby Runner XC Season Race. Another great turn out for the last XC of the season. Thank you to all who raced for us this season. Counting teams for every race for the ladies and men!
Individual League awards: Alice Rowland 2nd Female senior; Jill Murdey 3rd V55 Female; Linda New 1st V60 Female; Denise Muddimer 3rd V60 female; Ray Draycott 3rd V65 Male.

Derby Runner results

Click here to go the results.
Leicestershire Road Running League
Another road league season comes to an end. Massive thanks to Mick Jordan, Ramon Howe and the JF10 committee for staging the final race of the season - a massive success! Thank to all the organizers and volunteers on the day.
For everyone who has ran in the league this season, to represent your club, we are most appreciative for time and effort!
Team awards:
Ladies Vet Team Division 2 - Runners up. Well done ladies!
Individual awards:
3rd MV55 Nigel Ayres - well done Nige!
All senior and vets, mens ladies' and men's teams will be competing in Division 1 in 2020!

Christmas Handicap Run
Venue Leire Village Hall.
Parking in the village is tight please car share as much as possible.
The route will be a 5 mile run. Runners guess their handicap time. The run is a blind tempo run (no watches or devices allowed.
The winner was Cheryl Fitzpatrick being within 1 second of her predicted time!
2nd Sue Castledine (2 seconds difference)
3rd Donna Tebbutt (10 seconds difference)
4th Andy Meeks (12 seconds difference)
5th Sarah Odom (13 seconds difference
Massive thanks to Carole Priestley, for organizing the venue and the catering.
Club 10th Anniversary Celebration
Massive thank you to Cheryl Johnson for organizing the celebration party to mark the 10th anniversary of the foundation of the club, at King Power Stadium's the Banks' Lounge. A great night of eating, drinking and dancing was had by all! Thanks to all who came, making it a really special memorable evening!

Norman Bennett Track Handicap
Another successful Track Handicap race at Saffron Lane Stadium. 25 members completed the 3 mile event on Friday 31st May. A big thank you to all who helped last night, ran and supported. The run times are on the results page. Well done to all the award winners last night: Fastest male - Martin Hulbert, Fastest female - Emma Finlinson. Race positions: 3rd PLACE Becky Fairbairn, 2nd PLACE Charlie Latham, and big congratulations to WINNER Chris Kerry!
Club Annual General Meeting
26th February.
Thank you all who attended the AGM
Subscription rates agreed (by majority vote): Subs £15 (concessions apply) EA Number (individual competition license)£15 [amended] No concessions.
Chair - Clive Jones
Secretary - Dean Hassall
Treasurer - Cheryl Bayliss
Ladies' Captain - Michaela Latham
Men's Captain - Steven Latham
LRRL Rep - Chris Kerry
Social Secretary - Cheryl Johnson
New Member Liaison - Jeff Wilson
2018 Christmas Handicap Race
It was a return to Peatling Parva Village Hall (thank you Carole)and the six mile loop of the JF10. The weather was brilliant and Clive's spread sheet was pretty accurate (on the whole)... 1st place Rebecca Parry (and winner of the Fancy Dress competition), 2nd Andy Meeks and 3rd Martin Hulbert. Fastest female was Charlie Nurse and fastest male Martin Hulbert. Big thanks to all who organized, helped, marshaled and supported. Special thanks to Pete Williams (with Bernie's assistance)for time keeping and results processing. The catering was brilliant too! Great running Team Phoenix! Full results on the results page,
Club Kit
We have a selection of racing and training kit available: Club vests green and white (printed)£10; Reflective tees (XS-XL) black, green and pink £18, Navy hoodies £18, Green zipped hoodies £20. Coming soon club tees green with white print £11 See Clive